International Centre For Suppressed Music

The ICSM was established in 1999 by Geraldine Auerbach MBE and Michael Haas under the auspices of the Jewish Music Institute (JMI) at the School of Oriental and African Studies, (SOAS) University of London. Since 2013, the ICSM has based its activities at the Royal Holloway, University of London (RHUL) in collaboration with the RHUL Holocaust Studies Centre and the RHUL Department of Music.

Honorary President

  • Sir Simon Rattle OM CBE


  • Leon Botstein
  • James Conlon
  • Renee Fleming
  • Lawrence Foster
  • Matthias Goerne
  • Barry Humphries AO CBE
  • John Mauceri

International Advisory Board

  • Albrecht Dümling, Musica Reanimata and ‘Entartete Musik’ Exhibition Curator, Berlin
  • Christopher Hailey, Franz Schreker Foundation LA and Schoenberg Institut, Vienna
  • Martin Schüssler, Rathaus Foundation, New York, Berlin